Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 09-11-2008, 12:30 PM   #1
STRAIGHTLAYERS
Owner

Tiling Floor, Walls, Ceiling in Marble...Ugh

This is my first time at this web site, and I must say it is the bomb!!! I am doing a master bathroom in 18"x18" marble (designer sold it), its on the second floor. The previous bathroom tub leaked, they have tore out tub, vanity, drywall off of walls I am tiling, and floor down to first subfloor. They removed area that was damaged with water, and replaced it. It is 3/4". I just want to make sure before I start that I am doing everything to ensure no future leaks, cracks etc. I am going to put down over subfloor 1/2" AC plywood, screwed to existing subfloor, not to joist, not glued. Over that I am putting down 1/4" Hardibacker. Then lay Marble. On the ceiling there is still drywall painted its in good condition, is it ok to put the marble directly to that, or do I need to put Hardibacker there as well? The tub is going to be in corner, and the back wall I am tiling to ceiling, the right wall I am tiling approx. 36" wide to ceiling, and the left wall approx. 24" out to ceiling, it also will hold a shadow box with two shelves for soap etc. Its a large tub with jets, they will enclose the rest with glass and hang shower curtain. On the walls I was going to put visqueen stapled to studs, then 1/2" hardibacker, seams will be taped. I need to make sure that is all correct, in addition, what to use on the ceiling tile, the customer said the decorator said no grout line is ok, I believe 1/16" is what I need to do with unsanded grout. Please confirm. I also need to know if starting at the ceiling is the best, then do walls. I am also doing a radius wall