Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 11-10-2004, 09:45 PM   #1
kwood141

Tiling an old sunken shower in FL.

Hi all! I'm New to tile setting and new to this forum (which is great). I have many questions so I'll try to get to the point. I've stripped all the tile off the mud walls (mud over some sort of foam insulation on 2 exterior walls and mud on lath on studs on the other wall). I also cut holes in the wall to move the valve. This used to be a tiled tub so I removed the walls and the dam up to the top of some sort of tar paper (not mopped) pan. The floor is sunken approx 6", so I'm told by the plumber that code doesn't require a shower pan. The plumber moved the drain and roughed in the valve today. Some of my questions and concernes are as follows.

1. The plumber moved the drain out to about 15" from the wall with the controls and centered it in the other direction. Is this far enough? It seems OK to me. are there any other reasons why it should be more in the center of the shower?

2. The drain seems to low, The lower part of the drain (the part that would hold the membrane) is about 1" below the surface of the sunken slab. Should I raise it? If so, how much?

3. Should I put a presloped floor and a shower pan, even if code doesn't require it? How thick should the presloped floor be at the drain?

4. There appears to some sort of soft white mortor on top of the slab but under the old pan (possibly to smooth out the floor?). Would this need to be removed or can I put a mud bed or presloped floor right on top of it.

5. What is the best and/or easiest way to patch the holes in the walls, both where I cut out for the valve and the bottom of the walls?