Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 12-20-2010, 12:21 PM   #1
cptmorgan13
Total Newb

Complete Newb Planning Small Bath Remodel

Ok so here's the deal. I'm a new homeowner, and I've decided I really appreciate good tile work and I wanna actually do some. Right now I'm deployed, but I'm heading home in Mar11. Already have a kitchen floor I'm gonna have to tile (due to 'sploded dishwasher), but me and my wife also planned on doing the bathroom floors. But after seeing some of the work in these forums, I'm leaning more towards just redoing the whole shower too.

Unfortunately I don't have any reference pics of the shower currently but I'll get some. The main purpose of this thread is to just kick around some ideas and get some suggestions from my betters here so I have some ammunition when I get back and start tearing stuff apart.

Oh, and before it comes out later, I'll only be in the house until about Jul11 or so, and then I have to move. So yes, I am looking to tile significant portions of a home I'm going to have to most likely sell, maybe rent. But dammit I don't care cuz I wanna make it purdy.

First question: Curent shower consists of tiled walls and a pan. Considering my timeframe I'm looking at leaving the pre-fab pan and just tiling the walls and small bit of floor around the bathroom. Most of the beginner how-tos just have hardiboard, and I don't know anything about kerdi, ditra, or any of those other cool products you guys mention. If I'm leaving the pre-fab pan...

1) Is that a good idea? It it going to cause issues (aside from just not looking as nice)?
2) Can I rip out the old tile & drywall and just lay down hardiboard, or would you recommend something else?