Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 08-03-2022, 07:39 AM   #1
Mirage_Man

Shower reno in mobile home. (NEWB needs guidance)

Hello all. Just a quick introduction.. My name is Brian. I live in Florida. I'm fairly experienced in many phases of construction from framing, drywall, cabinetry, trim, flooring, painting, electrical etc.. However, a couple of areas that I have little experience with are plumbing and tile. I like to do things right the first time so I'd rather do my research and have a plan rather than go off half cocked. So here I am hoping to get guidance from you guys. I've watched a bunch of YouTube videos and read through many threads here on the forum but still have questions.

So I am renovating a 1970's mobile home and just started to tackle the master bathroom shower. It's the last major project outside the flooring that I need to do. The shower is on one of the exterior corners of the mobile home. I've already demoed the old shower, mostly. It has a soffit that I think I'm going to remove because on the right side of the shower is a flimsy 2x3 framed section that I'm sure was built to fit the fiberglass shower pan that was originally used. So I'm going to remove it to gain access to the 2x4 framed exterior wall.

I plan to remove and replace the subfloor as there is some rot and water damage. I'll probably do two layers of 3/4" plywood and beef up the framing underneath. The floor joists are 2x6's 24"on center. Gotta love mobile homes!

The tile I will be using is a porcelain 12x24 for the walls and a porcelain hexagon for the floor.