Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Professionals' Hangout

Sponsors

Unread 07-22-2007, 08:18 PM   #1
jmmcgorman

Thinking about quitting Flipping, and Starting Tile

I flip houses for a living, been doing it for a little over three years now. Originally started in residential real estate. That's for the birds. There was a thread recently on this forum about flip that house. All of those tv shows are full of crap. People don't realize what is involved in doing those houses. On Tv they will have a crew of like 30 guys go in and fix the house in 8 days and make 100k and only spend 15k on renovations. I spend 15 to 20k on all of the projects that I do. I only have two employees and help with all the work myself. By the time you buy it, pay for the improvements, pay your employees, actually install good quality products, pay closing costs on the loan, pay the interest on the loan, market the property, sell it, then cover some closing costs, then pay 20% capital gains tax, the profit is not all it's cracked up to be. This process you say 30 days to renovate, maybe more, at least 1 to 2 months on market another 1 to 2 to close, your talking 6 months before you make your money. Say you make 10k on the property, divided over six months, but it is not really 10, its 8 after your capital gains, divided by six. Which means you have to do a lot of them in a year, which is tough to do here in Virginia because the market is in the tank and I have two properties just sitting waiting to sell. One is a spec house costing me over a $1000 a month in interest chewing away my profit till it sells. Now granted there are some properties that you will make more than 10 but you get the idea of what I am talking about. Someone told me th