Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 05-08-2005, 05:25 PM   #1
AdamDH

Send a message via MSN to AdamDH
Newbie Tiler with lots of linoleum and vinyl

Hi everyone. I've been reading this forum for quite a while now and have finally gotten around to working on my own project. Of course I'm new at this and have tons of questions.

The basics: The house is 40 years old. The layout is square with one I-beam down the center. I have 2x12 joists, 16" on center, and 17' span on each side of the beam. Subfloor is either two sheets of 3/4" plywood, or one 1 1/2" plywood. I would like to tile my kitchen, hallway, and entryway with standard 1x1 ceramic tile.

Is this project even feasable with the above information?

If it is feasable, several obstacles lay in my way. I am guessing the floor material in the kitchen and the hallway is linoleum. I have attached some pictures. I am debating on whether or not to remove the linoleum or just leave it (there may be asbestos). Or should I just cut out the subfloor and start over?

My second obstacle is the entryway. There is the linoleum, two layers of vinyl, and some stick on square vinyl tiles on top of that. I have attached a pitcure of this as well. I have no clue on how to get all of this up or if it is even possible. I am very open for suggestions.

Thanks guys
Adam
Attached Images

AdamDH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 05-08-2005, 05:36 PM   #2
floorman1
Floor Layer -- St. Louis

Judging from the deflecto meter you are in good shape for tile.I would tear the vinyl out and get it down to the bare wood,it looks like it was laid directly on the plywood so no luan there.