Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet


Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Professionals' Hangout

Sponsors


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2012, 11:17 PM   #61
Levi the Tile Guy
Tile and Stone Contractor
 
Levi the Tile Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Grand Junction, Colorado
Posts: 5,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason
I don't use fabric but I do use CBU mesh tape in the corners with Hydroban.

Not needed maybe but I feel better.
I believe that is a requirement Jason. You still have to tape all the corners and seams according to CBU manufacturer instructions. The fabric is on top of the tape
__________________
Levi The Tile Guy


Grand Junction, Colorado Tile and Stone installation

Levi the Tile Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 11:19 PM   #62
Bill Vincent
Tile Contractor
 
Bill Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Bridgton, Maine
Posts: 8,626
So long as the seams are bridged, it doesn't matter if it's the fabric or mesh tape. Doesn't need to be both. That's my take on it, anyway.
__________________
Bill

"Whether you think you can, or you think you can't, you're probably right."

http://www.creativeceramicandmarble.com
Bill Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 11:22 PM   #63
Levi the Tile Guy
Tile and Stone Contractor
 
Levi the Tile Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Grand Junction, Colorado
Posts: 5,542
I stand corrected then I guess. How about movement though, will the fabric alone be enough, and you still can't use the fabric with gaps more than 1/8" can you?
__________________
Levi The Tile Guy


Grand Junction, Colorado Tile and Stone installation

Levi the Tile Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 07:49 AM   #64
coping skills
CSC
 
coping skills's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 588
Levi,

If you're using hydroban, you could put mesh directly over the studs and it wouldn't leak!
__________________
-Luke

Quality Crapsmanship.

In love with liquids.
coping skills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 11:50 AM   #65
Bill Vincent
Tile Contractor
 
Bill Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Bridgton, Maine
Posts: 8,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Levi
How about movement though, will the fabric alone be enough, and you still can't use the fabric with gaps more than 1/8" can you?
The mesh tape is fiberglass strands woven into a 2-3" wide mat. The cloth is solid fiberglass. I'd say yes. :-) As for gaps more than 1/8", it BETTER hold!! Although I try and keep my corners pretty tight when cutting CBU, I've had times when it's been a bit wide, especially when I get a GC who thinks he can get the CBU installed cheaper by the drywall guy. Also, although I heard about it after the fact, and wasn't happy about it, my son cut in the CBU for a ceiling once last spring, and reversed the dimension for where a hole was to be cut for the light, so rather than waste the sheet of Durock, he recut the hole in the same sheet, and then went over the bad hole with cloth and hydroban. It's holding, so far.
__________________
Bill

"Whether you think you can, or you think you can't, you're probably right."

http://www.creativeceramicandmarble.com
Bill Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 06:19 PM   #66
coping skills
CSC
 
coping skills's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 588
Scary
__________________
-Luke

Quality Crapsmanship.

In love with liquids.
coping skills is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Stonetooling.com   Tile-Assn.com   National Gypsum Permabase


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what type of laticrete thinset to use over hydroban jt in mid Tile Forum/Advice Board 3 03-04-2012 02:14 PM
Laticrete Hydroban Bob Casey Tile Forum/Advice Board 29 12-19-2010 07:55 PM
Mapei Aquadefense snakecan2 Tile Forum/Advice Board 6 12-05-2010 02:55 PM
Laticrete Hydroban, anyone try it? ninemile Professionals' Hangout 39 04-04-2008 06:26 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Sponsors

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 John Bridge & Associates, LLC