Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 09-16-2019, 02:01 PM   #1
jspernc1

drain not level

Putting in a kbrs system with oatey 3 piece drain. I thought I had the drain level before I set the tile basin but somehow it shifted about 1/8 to 3/16 out of level. I am not a tile guy by trade so I don't know if that is significant enough to be a problem. I thought about how to level it. I sanded off the threads of the screw in piece enough to just about get it level. There is a bit of play now. Can someone with tile experience tell me why I should not lock it in with mud, at the proper height and continue on with my floor
Unread 09-16-2019, 02:09 PM   #2
speed51133

I am not familiar with sanding off threads of a drain to make it level.

Can you describe this better?
Unread 09-16-2019, 02:14 PM   #3
jspernc1

drain

I simply sanded off the threads to give the screw in piece some play side to side. now its pretty much level and while the threads are not fully supporting the drain piece Iam asking is there a technical reason I am missing as to why I can't lock it in with the mud that is going around the drain housing which is set into the tile basin?The screw in tail piece is still still full length into the housing
Unread 09-16-2019, 02:15 PM   #4
jspernc1

the mud will be securing the drain screw in piece instead of the threads.
Unread 09-16-2019, 02:23 PM   #5
Kman

Welcome to the forum, Joe.

Is it okay? Well, it's yours to do with as you please. Nobody will come put you in "tile jail" for it. But I doubt you'll find anyone reputable that'll say that's an acceptable method.