Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 09-03-2019, 10:28 AM   #1
jchurch

Kerdi/large format tile question

Hey folks,
First post, but I’ve been making use of this forum for the last ~2 months now. So far it’s gotten me through pouring a new mud pan, water proofing a 3x5 shower with the Kerdi system/Kerdi drain, and getting my shower floor tile laid down; thanks for all the great advice so far!

I’ve run into a question I haven’t been able to answers with prior posts...

I’ve used Versabond for the Kerdi install and floor tile (1.5” hex mosaic mats) with good success. My wall tile is going to be 6x24” wood-look porcelain.

By the directions on the bag, Custom recommends Versabond LFT (large format tile) for this application, using the rule that the longest edge of the tile is over 15”. However, I know the reason so many prior threads agree that Versabond is “OK as long as you’re alright with voiding the Schluter warranty” is that it’s LIGHTLY modified.

So my question is-will the Versabond LFT be too modified to use to lay tile over Kerdi? Is there an increased risk I’ll experience drying/cure issues? Assuming the “LFT” designation equates to more modifiers...anyone have experience with the combination of products?
Unread 09-03-2019, 10:41 AM   #2
jchurch

Unscientific testing...

Also wanted to add-my 6x24 wall tile has the same surface area of a 12x12 tile, which IS acceptable to use with plain old Versabond per the rules on the bag.