Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 02-12-2020, 08:30 PM   #1
Rkoehler

Shower pan weeping water at edges

Hi everyone, long time lurker here, first post. I’m a tile contractor and was called to diagnose a shower pan that is continually weeping water at the edges where the floor meets the wall. I thought for sure the weep holes were clogged and possibly no preslope. Pan is pvc liner and mud with cast iron 2 piece drain. Well I demoed a little tile and mud around the drain today and the weep holes were clear and the mud and the pan was surprisingly dry after 2 showers in the morning. It was about 1pm when I removed the tile and mud. I’m stumped! Any idea what might cause water to be at the edges of the pan but not the drain? Even with no preslope, I would think the pan would be evenly wet and especially wet around the drain. General contractor who called me did the tile himself 10 years ago but doesn’t remember if there was a preslope or not but said it passed inspection here in California. I only have one pic but I’ll get more if you guys think it will help. . Thanks!
Ryan
Attached Images

Unread 02-12-2020, 08:40 PM   #2
Just In Tile LLC

Hi Ryan, Welcome

When you say weeping where the wall meets the floor are you saying water is slowly coming out where they meet? Or that the floor remains wet around the perimeter?

If I understand what you're saying correctly sounds like the water is draining slowly from the wall assembly. Maybe not full contact on the wall tiles and they slowly drain after each use down the wall?
Unread 02-12-2020, 08:55 PM   #3
Rkoehler