Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Professionals' Hangout

Sponsors

Old 09-27-2012, 05:57 PM   #1
karlkatzke

Pros: I'm not a pro, how do I get DalTile to sell to me?

Sorry to invade the pro hangout, but I need some advice. I'm sure at least some of you have gotten your start the same way. I'm a consumer and only work on my own homes or the homes of friends. I've probably laid a thousand sq ft of (well-backed, well-set, level) tile this year. I have a consulting business here in Texas, but it's not tile-related.

I am currently tiling an entire 1600 sq ft. house -- which I own. I plan to order thinset by the pallet and by the product number, and I don't want the crappity crap that the big box stores sell. I can buy it from a local tile store, but their markup is ... slightly ridiculous (I'm paying north of $50/bag for Laticrete 317.)

How can I convince DalTile (or some other distributor of Laticrete products) in Houston that I'm worthy of being sold to? When I've gone in or called in the past, even just saying "Yeah, I need a pallet of laticrete 317, grey, a couple commercial units of spectralock pro in x color, and half a case of latasil in the matching color, cash account" they've said that they won't do cash accounts and won't sell to anyone without a Texas contractor's license. I know that's not true because I was watching fly-by-nights walk in and out of there as I was getting rejected, paying in literal cash.