Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 08-28-2008, 11:52 AM   #1
turning_20

renovation old shower

Hi...I'm a newbie here, have done simple tile jobs on floors/walls but I have a totally different situation now. Am wanting to replace existing shower with mud pan and new tile on floor, walls & curb. My problem is this...I am standing facing the shwr doors. On my right is a sandstone wall to 6' or so. Above is 12" high sheetrock that dies into a 7' drop ceiling. (sheetrock overhangs stone & is frame behind) Back wall is tile to 7', left wall is tile also to same ht. with diverter/shower head, ect. Existing pan is "plastic" with recessed area that has tile on floor. Size of shwr is 48" x 32" and I'm wanting to increase depth from 32" to 42" or so (I have the room) My first question has to do with tearing-out all existing drywall down to studs (I'm assuming this is a "given") All has been in place for 30 yrs hence the remodel. The right wall with sandstone now has a alum. frame with plastic insert to keep water off stone. I want to cover all three walls with tile and am at a loss as what to do to cover-up the stone in prep for tiling. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. Other questions to follow.
Thanks
Jim
turning_20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 08-28-2008, 11:58 AM   #2
cx
Moderator emeritus

Welcome, Jim.

Yes, the tear-out is a given.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim
The right wall with sandstone now has a alum. frame with plastic insert to keep water off stone.
'Fraid I'm not following that at all. This is a structural stone wall of some kind? Think we need a picher. We like pichers.