Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 07-29-2011, 11:54 AM   #1
Mandefense

Plywood over hardie for a subfloor?

Forum members,
I am a newbie and was refered to this forum by a member from another forum I use. I am really excited about this site and wished I would have found it sooner. I have a new addition with engineered joists spanning 16'oc and the length are 20'. (I could not use the deflecto but I have my specific joist weight info if needed.)I have 3/4 t&g subfloor. Now here is the problem I DID NOT research enough before I put down 1/4 " hardie on the subfloor thinsetted and screwed every 8". I want to use ditra for the tiles more than the hardie. Now schluter informed me it voids the warranty to put ditra over cement board. I thought cement board was stronger than plywood for a subfloor (I now know that is wrong) So do I rip up the hardie and put the plywood then ditra, or can I put plywood over the hardie then ditra. I really like the ditra product. Or am I crazy and should just tile over the cement board. I would like your thoughts please. Thanks again for any help. I searched the forum but couldn't find this problem in any threads, if there is another thread similar I am sorry and could you please direct me to it. Again thank-you for any help!
Matt
Unread 07-29-2011, 12:12 PM   #2
cx
Moderator emeritus

Welcome, Matt.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt
engineered joists spanning 16'oc and the length are 20'.
I'm gonna presume you mean your engineered joists are spanning 20 feet and are installed on 16-inch centers. Only way to determine the deflection of that joist system is to consult the manufacturer or his online published span tables.