Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet


Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Unread 02-23-2008, 10:45 AM   #1
daion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Media,Pa.
Posts: 15
sorry newbie here.don't know how to post
I'm trying to find out what is stronger for the floor.Ditra or 1/2" cement board? Have 1/2 t&g ply.But, have height issue w/ adjoining floors.Floor is pretty solid.Extra bridging,glued,nailed.Family room below w/ drop ceiling.
ANY help would be forever remembered.

when the storm starts,the drops start dropping,
when the drops stop dropping,the storm starts stopping!
dr.seuss

Last edited by daion; 02-23-2008 at 10:51 AM. Reason: wrong thickness sub..daaaa it's 3/4"
daion is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 02-23-2008, 11:24 AM   #2
cx
Moderator emeritus
 
cx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boerne, Texas
Posts: 92,302
Welcome, daion. Please give us a first name to use if that's not it.

You don't want to attach your question to an unrelated shower thread, so I've moved it here and started you a project thread. Please ask all your questions here. We can change the title at any time if you'd like.

You don't depend upon the tiling substrate for any structural quality in your tile installation. Either the membrane or the CBU requires the same subflooring and joist sturcture.

Your subflooring is not adequate for either, but first we need to find out the rest of the story. You must know the type, condition, size, spacing, and longest unsupported span of the floor joists.

Then let's verify the actual type and thickness of your subflooring. It would be very unusual to have half-inch T&G panels.

My opinion; worth price charged.
__________________
CX

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-23-2008, 11:34 AM   #3
daion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Media,Pa.
Posts: 15
Thanks for directing me to the correct location.
I was at error w/ the thickness of the sub.It is 3/4 t&g.I installed 2 xtra solid bridging runs and the longest span is approx. 11'.I glued and air nailed(6" pattern)
ron
__________________
ron
daion is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-23-2008, 11:40 AM   #4
Mike2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: LaConner, Washington
Posts: 13,694
Hi Ron. What size joists and how are they spaced?

See the Deflecto tool on the blue bar towards the top of the screen. Go there, input your joist data, then tell us what you get.

Mike2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-23-2008, 11:54 AM   #5
Dave Taylor
Retired Moderator - Veteran DIYer -- Schluterville Graduate
 
Dave Taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St Marys County MD
Posts: 7,381
Hegidy Ron.......

Well..... you've given part of the information needed to help us help you answer your question.

Open the "Ta Da" 'Deflecto' tool up top this page.

This tool will help you calculate floor substructure (joists below your 3/4" T&G) "deflection" (bend) number........ which helps determine if your substructure is within constraints deemed necessary to maintain a tile covering.

If you've already used this "Deflecto" tool to calculated your floor deflection "L" number..... what deflection number did the tool generate for you?

EDIT: That Mike/Mike beats me to answering posts with increasing regularity.
Mebee" I need to loose weight.

What he said:
__________________
Dave T (DIY'er)
Welcome to "Tile Your World", the friendliest forum on
the net.
Dave Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-23-2008, 12:01 PM   #6
daion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Media,Pa.
Posts: 15
Oh Yeah
I'm l/377.I'll be using 13x13 porcelain.Thanks for the instruction so far
__________________
ron
daion is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-23-2008, 12:09 PM   #7
Dave Taylor
Retired Moderator - Veteran DIYer -- Schluterville Graduate
 
Dave Taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St Marys County MD
Posts: 7,381
Consider using the Ditra, Ron...... it has about a 1/8" heght installed.

If you do use CBU..... 1/4" is sufficient as opposed to 1/2".

In all cases (unless your subfloor IS mucho sturdy).... I would consider more plywood underlayment...... 3/8" minimum..... 1/2" much better.
__________________
Dave T (DIY'er)
Welcome to "Tile Your World", the friendliest forum on
the net.
Dave Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-23-2008, 12:29 PM   #8
daion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Media,Pa.
Posts: 15
some of the joists were crowned,so I used a planer(as best I could) to achieve flatness.There is an area that will most likely need to be leveled a tad.OK,so I missed one Ditra for the ply is modified? What should i do for the area I put leveler on? The modified is for the WOOD only application and over cement it should UN modified? I'm working off of memory now and it's been two weeks scince my conv. w/ ditra. They told me of the "modified and unmodified" condition.What are my options in that erea
__________________
ron
daion is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-25-2008, 09:32 PM   #9
daion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Media,Pa.
Posts: 15
Question Ditra install

Can thinset be applied a little thicker under Ditra to compensate for a dip in the floor?
Does the thinset have to be "notched" or can the Ditra be laid on a flat "leveler"type of thinset application?
I have a 1/2" dip from my last joist-to the wall (16").I have already put some Henry on other spots.Well aware that I have to switch from modified to unmodified in these areas.I used the Henry assuming it's ok because it's portland based(concrete?).And for the fast setup.
I'm applying the Ditra over plywood with modified.Hoping I can Get away w/o having to get more Henry.
I'll be using 13x13 porcelain.I'm assuming,from what I read in the threads,I shoulds butter the back of the tile as well?
Is a 1/4x3/8 sq. notch the right one?Thanks for any input.
I'm a newbie to this site,and tile.Couldn't have done it w/o the help I've gotten already.
__________________
ron
daion is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2008, 03:05 PM   #10
daion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Media,Pa.
Posts: 15
under da Ditra

Ditra install

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can thinset be applied a little thicker under Ditra to compensate for a dip in the floor?
Does the thinset have to be "notched" or can the Ditra be laid on a flat "leveler"type of thinset application?
I have a 1/2" dip from my last joist-to the wall (16").I have already put some Henry on other spots.Well aware that I have to switch from modified to unmodified in these areas.I used the Henry assuming it's ok because it's portland based(concrete?).And for the fast setup.
I'm applying the Ditra over plywood with modified.Hoping I can Get away w/o having to get more Henry.
I'll be using 13x13 porcelain.I'm assuming,from what I read in the threads,I shoulds butter the back of the tile as well?
Is a 1/4x3/8 sq. notch the right one?Thanks for any input.
I'm a newbie to this site,and tile.Couldn't have done it w/o the help I've gotten already.
__________________
__________________
ron
daion is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2008, 03:38 PM   #11
daion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Media,Pa.
Posts: 15
anybody?

tried last night but gave uo waiting and went to bed.1hr.15mins
__________________
ron
daion is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2008, 03:59 PM   #12
daion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Media,Pa.
Posts: 15
Talking under da ditra?

hello,
i was wondering if i can put modified a little thicker to make up for a sag in the plywood floor,under the ditra?Does ditra have to be laid on a "notched thin set or can it be forced into a flat thinset? It's 1/4-1/2 " from the last joist to the parrallellell wall.Is that even a word? Somewhere about 18 in.
I put some Henry in other areas.I'll have to use unmodified where there leveler is and modified for the bare plywood.
The HD where I live TOTALLY stinks! The Henry was all they had,and being portland based,figured it would work.Hope I'm correct
#2 I'll be applying 13x13 porcelain.What is the recommendation on trowel size?
I've tackled almost every project in my last 2 homes. This is my first tile job.I love the diy thing,but I'm learning to leave the tile to the tile guys.To many factors to go wrong.I couldn't have gotten this far w/o the help of this forum!Any input is certainly welcome
If anyone needs a highrise or a bridge built,I can do that.
__________________
ron
daion is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2008, 04:45 PM   #13
daion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Media,Pa.
Posts: 15
OK that's strike three for me

I delete the forum address from my contacts now.Three times ,over an hour wait.Can't wait no more.The initial post must have been a teaser.
__________________
ron
daion is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2008, 04:54 PM   #14
cx
Moderator emeritus
 
cx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boerne, Texas
Posts: 92,302
Sorry, Ron. Most all of our free help hereabouts have real jobs that keep them away from the forums for unreasonable amounts of time, I agree. But they do the best they can to keep up when they're here.
__________________
CX

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2008, 04:54 PM   #15
Mike2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: LaConner, Washington
Posts: 13,694
Ron, it's best to level the floor and let that set up before placing Ditra down. A 1/2" thickness build with thin-set is a little too thick. Depending upon how big this area is, I think you'd be better off using a cement based patching compound.

What was the Henry's product you used? Could be you just need more of the same.
Mike2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Stonetooling.com   Tile-Assn.com   National Gypsum Permabase


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Sponsors

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 John Bridge & Associates, LLC