Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 06-26-2013, 12:30 PM   #1
ncraig

203K construction debacle - to vapor barrier or not to vapor barrier

So ive been fighting with a contractor for almost 6 months now on a major home renovation. One part of the renovation was a complete remodel of the master bathroom to make an ADA compliant walk-in shower.

I found out AFTER the last tile was set and grouted that they never installed a vapor barrier behind the Durrock CBU in the shower. The argument from me is that it has to be there, or a exterior CBU membrane (kerdi, redgard).

Because the shower is complete they are refusing to fix it.
here is thier final response:
8. No vapor barrier in shower. Not a code issue. None of the manufacture’s of the products used mention the use of a vapor barrier nor is it an industry standard. Please go to USG's Website and watch the video on the installation of Durock Cement Board. It shows them installing the cement board directly to the wood studs exactly as what was done in the residence. At no time does it mention or show a vapor barrier being installed. This is the manufactures recommendation. Also The Tile Council of North America's own handbook does not specify that a vapor barrier is needed when installing these items. No work to be done.

My TCNA handbook is outdated from 2011. can anyoen provide hard references to fight this scourge?
Unread 06-26-2013, 12:46 PM   #2
ddmoit
Veteran DIYer -- Schluterville Graduate

Welcome to the forum, Nick.

Technically, a "vapor barrier" is not required. Now a "moisture barrier" on the other hand - that's debatable.

Here is a relevant thread to look at.