Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 05-28-2008, 01:11 PM   #1
JohninPA

Botched Shower Install - Restarting with Kerdi

I'm a newb to tiling - I've done a floor with good results but never a shower.

Wife and I bought this house 9 months ago and a couple months ago found that the tile shower in the master bath was leaking. It's a 3 wall shower, about 4x5' dimensions, 8 ft high.
_______
|.........|
|.........|
|.........|-the shower head is here, facing downward west.
|.........|

I started noticing grout cracks in the west wall lower lines. Quickly determined we had a water penetration problem. The install was only 2 years if that. Just a bad DIY. Guy didn't even use greenboard. Just reg. old drywall plus tile.

So I don't have the time to do this. I hire a contractor. I need to run some of his "issues" past you guys. I'm not having a swell time working with him and it's not cool that he's kinda feeding me BS. He's basically alluding that Wonderboard is a barrier - I know it's not - it's pourous. But I didn't want to get into a fight about it.

So, the current situation is he demo'd out the whole thing except the pan, down to the studs. including the ceiling. he replaced the insulation (the north wall is an exterior wall). He hung the wonderboard and taped the seams today. I ask him about vapor barriers, water proofing - he's playing dumb. I know he didn't put plastic behind the wonderboard.

I know the bathroom is well ventilated - good fan. large window. I'm thinking that good tile/grout work and me sealing all the lines up afterward SHOULD protect the shower from leaking water for a long time.