Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 06-07-2020, 05:41 PM   #1
Elle H

Help, what to do? New construction, Bad tile job?

Hi all, can you help me with what I should do? I am under contract for a new construction Pulte home. I am not an expert by any means but the tile job looks SO shoddy to me. Just unprofessional. The cuts are uneven, jagged and too short, leaving large gaps along the walls. There is lots of lipping throughout. He even grouted in a broken tile. I checked another house they are building and it looks similar. I feel like their tile subcontractor is just not good. I’m attaching some photos. What are your thoughts and what should I do?
Attached Images

Unread 06-07-2020, 05:57 PM   #2
Elle H

Adding a photo of the tiled room for context
Attached Images

Unread 06-07-2020, 06:29 PM   #3
Gozo

Talk to Pulte directly, and bring the lead contractor in on the issue. Depends on how badly you want the home and how badly they want to move inventory. Depending on how the floor was laid, it could be rough to fix; but from what I see, it looks like the tiles will come up easily.
In the 5th picture of the first post, I was thinking the crappy cut would be covered by the trim, but there’s already trim there. I usually paint/stain the trim before I put it in, but hopefully the painter will be neater than the tiler. On the wide view pic in the second post, usually even bad tiling looks nice, but in this picture, am I seeing huge gaps around the bottom of what look to be a bar seating area, or is it just the optics of the photo?