Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 01-29-2020, 07:53 PM   #1
Husky546

Shower Installation

Hey guys I’m new to the thread and relatively new to the Tile world which I’m sure will be obvious with what I’m about to ask. And I’m sure this same thing has been asked many times so I apologize for any redundancy.

So basically I finally am remodeling my 1960s basement bathroom and I am to the point of waterproofing and hanging durarock. But I have gotten stuck as far as how to properly waterproof the shower. Here is my set up to this point

2x4 framing against the cement wall

3 inches of closed cell foam board between the studs leaving 1/4-1/2 inch of airspace between the insulation and what will be the backside of the duration

Foamboard is caulked in tight to the studs so I avoid any air leaks

I have purchased durarock for my backer

So now I come to the point of a waterproofing system and from my understanding there are 2 options #1 a plastic sheet against the studs behind the durarock or #2 a red guard or similar on the front side

From my understanding you should use one or the other but never both is this correct or am I misunderstanding the concept? And for those of you with experience what do you recommend for my situation. I’m not worried about water coming in from the outside as I am a poured foundation and the old bathroom was all built with non treated lumber that was still in perfect condition when it was torn out. But with that being said I don’t want to introduce a water situation from a shower that is built wrong

Also for what it’s worth I would like to use an epoxy grout unless that is an issue anyone sees