Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 08-02-2019, 12:39 PM   #1
rkymtn_consultant

Mastic? Is it really that bad?

Hi everyone, I've been lurking around these forums for years but this is the first time I've posted. I'm a home inspector and construction consultant from Lakewood, CO (just outside of Denver). I've formally worked as a remodel contractor and project manager.

First I'll start off with a little background to my question, feel free to skip down a few paragraphs for the TLDR version.

Recently, one of my clients who is building a new home in a remote location had one of their bathrooms tiled with Custom Building Products Omnigrip because they wanted the bathroom finished by the time the well/septic was in as to have a functional bathroom on site. There was no source of water except for a small portable cistern, hence the use of Omnigrip (and disposable tools).

Anyhow, the tile setter, who is actually also the plumber, wasn't excited about using mastic until he was using mastic and then said it was "great". Apparently, he had never used it before. The tile went in really fast and the finished product looks amazing. He finished before the well was in, but wanted the well in before grouting, so it ended up being almost 2 weeks before the bathroom was grouted with Kerapoxy, which was partially chosen because this bathroom will be used by the construction crew for the remainder of the build and we wanted to keep the chance of staining low. A second consideration was preventing moisture from getting to the mastic after the grout was in. When it was finished I asked him how he felt about the longevity of the work and he said he didn't "see how it was going anywhere".