Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Old 07-31-2014, 09:41 AM   #1
Derek1234
Derek

Calcutta Gold floor help

I am a general contractor using a trusted tile contractor that is having some issues with a 12x24 Calcutta gold floor in a small bathroom. The floor is showing excessive veining or cracking that continues to get worse in the 8 weeks since its installation. The tile contractor had us have the existing sub floor recessed the required amount for his needed assembly required for his work. We consulted with a structural engineer on the work and have no spans over 5' on the 2x10 framing on 12" centers. Our engineer stated we were clear all the way down to a 2x6 joist if needed for further depth. The tile contractor installed Polymortified Versa bond Mortar with a 1/4" notch trowel, installed Durock underlayment, screwed down with quick drive system as well as taped the joints. He then installed Laticrete floor warming heat mat system. Next Install Custom level quick with Latex Primer over entire area to cover wire and level floor out. Finally Install marble with custom poly mortified Versabond by using a 3/8" notch trowel and also back buttering each piece of stone. Forgive me if I Have spelled some of the names of these technical products incorrectly. The issue is the floor is cracking and the wall tiles are showing some of the same issues as well. Some of the uninstalled product shows some of the same issues although not as bad yet. The product distributor began blaming cleaning, then structural, then the heat mat, then the installation method etc. Product distributor indicates the only right way to install marble is on a 2" mud base per TCA. I just want to figure out the cor