Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 10-19-2020, 08:28 PM   #1
etudenc

Deck mud or self-leveling underlayment?

Hi everyone,

I'm in the process of tiling our small 16 sq. foot powder room (no tub or shower) and am hoping to get some guidance. For better or worse this is my first time working with tile -- hopefully I'll be using the correct terms but if not, hope I'm close!

I removed the mosaic tiles that were in place but the mud bed underneath was cracking and flaking so I decided to remove it as well. Now I have an exposed cement slab and some pretty big gaps to fill (in some spots, about two inches) in order to get the floor back up to its original level. I attached a pic below.

I've been watching Isaac Ostrom's very helpful videos (YouTube "Tile Coach") on creating a deck mud bed AND using self-leveling underlayment. My question is, which should I use for this space -- the deck mud bed or self-leveling underlayment? I'm a one-man band here so I'm concerned about being able to prep enough self-leveling underlayment to fill in that space without the risk of the last batch drying.

Another question -- in one of his videos (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQw5d9sdz48), Isaac places Aquabar tarpaper and stucco netting on top of the concrete slab prior to filling in with the deck mud. I presume I should be doing the same for my application -- does that sound correct?

Thanks in advance -- any input would be greatly appreciated!
Attached Images

Last edited by etudenc; 10-19-2020 at 08:53 PM. Reason: (correcting terms)
etudenc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 10-19-2020, 09:06 PM   #2
jadnashua
Veteran DIYer- Schluterville Graduate