Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 01-23-2010, 11:10 AM   #1
zooluk
Scott

Scott's Master Bath- Help!

First- Thanks to all the experts on this forum for helping us do it yourselfers! I have really benefited from this site.

This is my first project like this and working with Kerdi products and I have progressed good but I am a bit stuck in a few areas.

#1 - When setting my Kerdi drain into the foam Schulter tray, I had an issue where the drain flange "sprung back up" about 1/8" during the install(due to a small piece of wood I put under the PVC drain to provide some backing to support pressing the PVC joints together) . I knew the drain flange had to be well supported so what I did was place a bowling ball on the drain to fully seat the drain flange to the foam base and then I worked the membrane into the flange and made everything well bonded and smooth. I left the bowling ball on the flange for one week and everything seems solid and smooth (flange stayed flush) but I worry that a small amount of pressure pushing up on the plumbing will eventually seperate the flange from the foam tray and cause issues.
Question- Is the membrane connection to the drain, and the tile I will put on the floor enough to keep this flange in place OR do I need to cut a hole in the downstairs ceiling to relieve the little bit of pressure on the drain pushing up?

Here is picture of what I did:
Name:  DSC02870b.jpg
Views: 1946
Size:  23.5 KB