Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 07-26-2006, 07:54 PM   #1
mctile
Fort Collins, CO. Tile Contractor

anti-fracture membrane--HELP

I am currently bidding a job that is 2700sqft of 18"x18" travretine on a brand new slab. I know I need to use a anti-fracture but I don't know what kind to use. I want to be competitive with my bid and at the same time want to use a product that will last. Ditra? Easymat? Redguard? This is my first time bidding a job this big and also my first time laying on a new slab. Any suggestions will be helpful.

Fort Collins Colorado Tile Installation
mctile is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 07-26-2006, 08:05 PM   #2
jay f
Illinois Flooring Man

Send a message via Yahoo to jay f
I would probably use something like Ditra myself, BUT my first question would be, how flat is this slab, do I need a SLC?

give me thin set or give me death!!!
jay f is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-26-2006, 08:10 PM   #3
mctile

the slab is flat and 8" thick. Don't think i'll need a slc.

Unread 07-26-2006, 08:14 PM   #4
Davestone
Florida Tile & Stone Man

Around here Mapei,Proflex,Protectowrap,are all about $1.00 ft.,but Ditra can be used on green slabs, if that's what you have.

http://Davestonestile.com
Davestone is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-26-2006, 08:40 PM   #5
Davy
Moderator -- Mud Man

I use alot of Redgard over slabs, mainly cause it trowels on and goes down fast. I normally will burn in a thin layer as I'm troweling and make it thicker as I back out.

www.davystephenstile.com
Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-26-2006, 08:50 PM   #6
koihito
A person, like you.