Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet


Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Unread 11-03-2011, 04:03 PM   #16
Redrobster78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
Sorry for all the questions but i assume its ok to use with OSB even if the bag of Custom VersaBond Fortified Thin-Set said do not use on OSB?

Are Custom Building Products good or is there something else at a big box store I should use?
__________________
Rob
Redrobster78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-03-2011, 04:06 PM   #17
CarpenterLearningTile
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia Hills
Posts: 125
I would pull up the OSB and replace it with plywood
instead of taking back the thin set.
__________________
Robert
CarpenterLearningTile is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-03-2011, 07:46 PM   #18
Houston Remodeler
Pondering retirement daily

STAR Senior Contributor

 
Houston Remodeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 28,207
CBP makes good stuff. Just avoid the $5 a bag stuff
__________________
Paul1

For when DIY isn't such a good idea...
Houston TX area Kitchen & Bath Remodeling


http://CabotAndRowe.com
Houston Remodeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-03-2011, 09:35 PM   #19
Hammy
Registered User
 
Hammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 4,891
Send a message via AIM to Hammy
IS it OSB or Advantec ? Big difference...........

Hammy
__________________
Kitchen & Bath Makeovers
T & J Construction Services
Manchester, TN 37355

Professionally Built Mold - Mildew - Moisture Resistant Showers
Using Laticrete & Schluter Products

Click here to Visit us on Face Book
Hammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-03-2011, 11:05 PM   #20
Redrobster78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
The under side is stamped OSB... So is that ok to proceed with Ditra?

What is Advantec?
__________________
Rob
Redrobster78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-04-2011, 08:19 AM   #21
cx
Moderator emeritus
 
cx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boerne, Texas
Posts: 91,242
Welcome, Rob.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob
i assume its ok to use with OSB even if the bag of Custom VersaBond Fortified Thin-Set said do not use on OSB?
Not at all sure why a fella would assume that.

I see lots of talk about trowel sizes but nothing at all about any evaluation of the subfloor structure you have. Perhaps I missed that? Be good to know if your floor even qualifies for a tile installation before you proceed, think I.

You can use the Deflecto calculator in the dark blue bar near the top of the page to get started on that process.

Then if you decide to use Ditra I would find a thinset mortar that does not proscribe use over the subflooring material you have. There is some question about just what some of those manufacturers actually mean by that, but I wouldn't take a chance on guessing incorrectly.

My opinion; worth price charged.
__________________
CX

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-04-2011, 09:20 AM   #22
Redrobster78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks CX. So here are the facts, 2x10 @ 16" OC w/ 3/4" OSB, span 13'. The house is only 12 years old so the structure is pretty solid. I'm tiling an area that use to be tiled that I've already removed down to the subfloor. I've already purchased Ditra XL as I'm trying to be flush with a new 3/4" hardwood floor.

Those are the facts, what I'm looking for guidance now is what modified thin-set can I use between the subfloor (OSB) and the Ditra XL?

Thanks!
__________________
Rob
Redrobster78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-04-2011, 09:54 AM   #23
Redrobster78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
I purchased FlexBond, CBP, as the guy at Home Depot said it should be fine! Is this acceptable to use between the Ditra and OSB even if it says not to use on OSB?

Sorry for all the questions, I feel so confused!
__________________
Rob
Redrobster78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-04-2011, 10:32 AM   #24
cx
Moderator emeritus
 
cx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boerne, Texas
Posts: 91,242
Well, if your OSB is of the T&G variety, your subflooring meets the minimum standards for Ditra. If you're happy with that, I'm happy with that.

Might be difficult to find a thinset mortar that actually says OSB is a suitable substrate. The thinking from out here where we don't make thinset mortar is that the mortar manufacturers just don't want you to set tile directly to OSB with their mortars. But that's not what their data sheets say. Data sheet says plywood is a suitable substrate and some data sheets specifically say OSB is not a suitable substrate.

I don't set tiles over either one and don't know how well that works, but I don't ever try to bond anything to OSB with wood glue or construction adhesives. Just doesn't seem to work as well as bonding to plywood. And I'm not one of the folks who bash OSB in general; I think it's a good and useful product. I just don't use it where I gotta glue stuff, even though it's used every day where it's gotta be bonded to joist tops with construction adhesive.

Up to you what you use to apply your Ditra to OSB. Schluter thinks it a fine idea. Maybe axe them, eh? 800472-4588.

Or wait for one of the guys who does that kinda installation to tell you that Versabond will be fine, or suggest something that will.

My opinion; worth price charged.
__________________
CX

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-04-2011, 10:58 AM   #25
Redrobster78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
CX, I called Custom and they said it is fine to use FlexBond over OSB. The wording in the package relates to using OSB as the substrate to lay tile. Onto directly, since I'm not doing that it should work fine with the Ditra.

BTW, I always like to beef things up so I glued and screwed full length 2x4 to the top and bottom of the joists, since there are wires in the middle. Thus making it a sort of "I" beam, so it should be more then enough now.
__________________
Rob
Redrobster78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Stonetooling.com   Tile-Assn.com   National Gypsum Permabase


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CBU over Ply, then Ditra - should CBU be thinsetted down. AJMac Tile Forum/Advice Board 6 03-22-2011 07:09 PM
Ditra vs CBU ajaake Tile Forum/Advice Board 11 04-18-2007 11:25 AM
Ditra or CBU Gene Boomer Tile Forum/Advice Board 5 02-04-2007 10:12 PM
1/4"cbu under ditra? customceramicsllc Professionals' Hangout 12 04-03-2006 08:50 PM
CBU or Ditra byoung Tile Forum/Advice Board 3 03-24-2006 08:37 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Sponsors

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 John Bridge & Associates, LLC