Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 09-22-2007, 05:37 PM   #1
KimK

Cleaning Thinset Out of Joints Question and another....

Hello,

Newbie here who has asked some previous questions and your advice has been much appreciated! Got a great cheap drill at HF for mixing mortar thanks to your tips so no more mixing by hand!

Have some more questions, but am I supposed to go back to my original post and add the question to that post since it relates to the same tile project?

First question is about cleaning thinset out of the joints before grouting. I searched the forum, but could not find the answer I am looking for. A few spots have mortar very close to the top and I read that it is best to have about 3/4 the height of the tile clear of thinset. While laying my ceramic tile (12 X 12 with 1/4 inch joints using Versabond), I used the spacers to clean out any excess thinset from between the joints. Since I am a newbie and quite a bit to learn, many tiles were placed down, not even, then lifted, and put back. After doing this the edges would get a good bit of thinset on them. Cleaned the edges best I could with a damp microfiber rag, but many edges have minimal thinset on them. I will be using bone grout made by Custom, and the Versabond was white. Already purchased the grout removal tool.

Do I need to scrape any Versabond thinset off of the edges if it is very minimal?