Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 07-22-2018, 02:48 PM   #1
Perry555

Replace on tile on jersey mud installation????????

Quick Summary:
I dropped a pot on one of my tiles and it shattered. I removed the tile and find that it is a “jersey mud job”. Its nor practical to replace the whole floor. I am a complete novice at this. Just want to save some money by doing it myself (although that might be a mistake).
Originally I thought there was backerboard underneath the thinset but upon chiseling with a rotary drill I saw the mesh.

Seeking help on:
How to proceed now? Take out just the thinset maybe using an angle grinder and diamond blade? Keep chiseling and take the whole section including the mesh out an replace using the same technique?
Unread 07-22-2018, 02:54 PM   #2
Perry555

Here are some pics:

As you can see on one of the pics, after vacumming the dust away, the wood is visible.

Do I try to retain the mesh? Or cut around it and get to the wood part?
Attached Images

Unread 07-22-2018, 03:21 PM   #3
rmckee84

Since you're only trying to fix the single tile I would just scrape enough thinset away so that you can get a decent enough bed of new mortar under the tile and hope for the best.
rmckee84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-22-2018, 03:28 PM   #4
Perry555

You mean fill the areas where the mortar has come out? The white part is the thinset. Grey is the mortar I think. So I dont need to rebuild it the same way?
If I just put thinset down will it fill all the voids where the mortar is missing due to my chiseling? Will this all self level?
Unread 07-22-2018, 03:30 PM   #5
Davy
Moderator -- Mud Man