Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Professionals' Hangout

Sponsors

Unread 10-12-2005, 10:51 PM   #1
wazoo

tile over exterior wood framed balcony

Hi: I am a renovation contractor on Vancouver Island BC Canada. We get a lot of rain and occasional sub-zero temp. in the winter and dry 70 to 90 degree temp. in the summer. I have a client with a south facing non covered wood framed second story balcony that is currently sloped for drainage and covered with an old 60 mill vinyl such as "Duradeck". The deck construction is 5/8" ply over 2"x10" at 16" oc spanning about 15' over the living room below. My question is how can I install frost resistant ceramic tile over this substrate while making it both watertite and ridgid enough to support tile? My thoughts were to build up the existing plywood to 1" after removing the vinyl coating by glueing and screwing 3/8" sanded ply over top without overlapping seams. Then installing a waterproof membrane such as torch or some other peal and stick product and then installing the frost proof tile. But what about bonding to the membrane? or here's a new idea, what about the new "Kardi" by "Schluter" shower pan system? Would it be suitable for an exterior application?.......Any thoughts appreciated
wazoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 10-13-2005, 06:56 AM   #2
bbcamp

Instead of tile, consider brick pavers over a membrane roof deck.
bbcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-13-2005, 05:13 PM   #3
John Bridge
Mudmeister

Send a message via AIM to John Bridge
Hi Wazoo, Welcome aboard.

I think Bob means loose laid pavers. Not sure.

Bob, what about if we were to add a two-inch thick mud bed?

Wazoo, please give us a first name.