Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet


Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Unread 07-09-2008, 07:22 PM   #1
Willl
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: ND
Posts: 178
code requirements

Hi,

Is it against code if the first step is 1 1/4" wider than the other steps going up. Thanks
Willl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 07-09-2008, 07:30 PM   #2
Davestone
Florida Tile & Stone Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Naples Fl.
Posts: 22,690
You mean wider or deeper?
__________________
Dave



http://Davestonestile.com
Davestone is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-09-2008, 07:47 PM   #3
cx
Moderator emeritus
 
cx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boerne, Texas
Posts: 95,220
I know of no variation limits on width so long as it meets minimum requirements. Never really looked into that, though, truth be known.

Now, if you're talking about depth, as Stoner is suggesting, your step would not even be close to meeting anyone's code.

My opinion; worth price charged.
__________________
CX

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-09-2008, 07:55 PM   #4
Willl
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: ND
Posts: 178
deeper. I saw some pictures where the staircases first step looked deeper than the rest. Maybe they were just bad pictures. Thanks
Willl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-09-2008, 08:13 PM   #5
Sterving
Weekend Warrior
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 85
1-1/4" is definitely way outside any code. When I was rebuilding lower section of the stairway, I recall the code stipulated no more than 3/8" variation in tread depth. You should check your local building code, but the national one should be good enough.
__________________
Dmitriy

If you want it done right, you have do it yourself. If you do it wrong, you know who is to blame.
Sterving is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-09-2008, 08:42 PM   #6
cx
Moderator emeritus
 
cx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boerne, Texas
Posts: 95,220
I think that's the IRC requirement, Dimitriy, and their depth consistency requirement is the same as for the riser heights. And that's the least restrictive in the industry, I believe.

My opinion; worth price charged.
__________________
CX

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-09-2008, 08:58 PM   #7
ddmoit
Veteran DIYer -- Schluterville Graduate
 
ddmoit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SE Tennessee
Posts: 8,884
At what point is it no longer a step, but a landing?
__________________
Dan - a DIYer in SE Tennessee
ddmoit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-09-2008, 09:01 PM   #8
cx
Moderator emeritus
 
cx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boerne, Texas
Posts: 95,220
Well, Dan, just go ahead and pewt us onna spot, why doncha?

Don't quote me without lookin' it up, but I believe to be a proper landing it must be as deep as the width of the stair.
__________________
CX

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2008, 09:00 AM   #9
rus_geek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Athens, WI
Posts: 49
WI code has a max variance of 3/16" and landings have to be at least 36" deep.

nodak building code is here: http://www.communityservices.nd.gov/...building-code/ At first glance it looks like they adopted the same standard as WI.

What's causing your first step to be that much larger?

-r-
__________________
Rus
Up-to-my-eyeballs in house construction
Up-to-my-elbows in thinset (literally some days)
rus_geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2008, 09:25 AM   #10
Willl
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: ND
Posts: 178
I can cut it if I want too so all is good there.

Sense I am here I have another question to ask. I have a concrete floor with cracks in it and it looks like one side of the crack is about 1/32" higher than the other. That is pretty small and I was thinking that this might have occured in the first years because of the concrete settling some. Concrete is about 30 years old and I am thinking all settling is over with. I will be using ditra over the whole thing. Thanks
Willl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2008, 09:30 AM   #11
cx
Moderator emeritus
 
cx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boerne, Texas
Posts: 95,220
You said you had a question, Will? I musta missed it.
__________________
CX

Y'ALL NEW VISITORS READ THIS HERE!
cx is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2008, 09:31 AM   #12
bbcamp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 30,274
Quote:
Sense I am here I have another question to ask. I have a concrete floor with cracks in it and it looks like one side of the crack is about 1/32" higher than the other. That is pretty small and I was thinking that this might have occured in the first years because of the concrete settling some. Concrete is about 30 years old and I am thinking all settling is over with. I will be using ditra over the whole thing.
And the question is.....

Is this OK? I dunno. No guaranties with vertical movement. It may be done and in the past, but maybe not. If you do tile over it, the Ditra will n ot protect against further movement. Nothing will. You simply have to ask yourself: Do I feel lucky?
bbcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2008, 09:41 AM   #13
Willl
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: ND
Posts: 178
Your opinion on tiling over the floor that has the slight variation in hieght was the question. Is this slight variation that much of a big deal. I am aware of the ditra not covering the vertical movement I just didn't think that 1/32" was that much of a problem. being 30 years old shouldn't the settling be all over with. The flooring is about 4 feet below ground. Thanks.
Willl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2008, 09:46 AM   #14
ddmoit
Veteran DIYer -- Schluterville Graduate
 
ddmoit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SE Tennessee
Posts: 8,884
Hi Will,

Here's the deal: You can tile over it. If it never moves again, your tiles will be fine. If it does move, there is no product or procedure that you can employ that will prevent your tiles from cracking over that vertical fault.
__________________
Dan - a DIYer in SE Tennessee
ddmoit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2008, 10:02 AM   #15
Willl
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: ND
Posts: 178
It isn't a nominal 1/32" of an inch either. At one end of the crack it is level and at the other end it is level. Only the central 6-8 feet is there a variation. Crack is about 15 feet I would say. It isn't all the way through it either. What I mean by that is the slab is 30 by 40 and the crack doesn't go the full length of the slab. Thanks
Willl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Stonetooling.com   Tile-Assn.com   National Gypsum Permabase


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Sponsors

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 John Bridge & Associates, LLC