Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Professionals' Hangout

Sponsors

Unread 11-06-2010, 09:48 AM   #1
scott anthony
Tile Man -- Central Florida

Dewalt 2400 and Ridged compared

I just received a new saw this week, I broke down and purchased a 2400 Dewalt, I have been using a Ridgid 10 " for a few years and have been extremely happy compared to the 101 MK.
First, I know this topic is beat into the ground but I'm hear to give my thoughts. I cannot at this time give a cut and power evaluation due to I have not used it in production yet.
Lets start with the stand, the Ridgid is very heavy duty but I think it may be an over kill, maybe 25 lbs difference. The Dewalt I think will do just fine for the purpose.
The power supply systems on both seem to be a decent protective system so I will call this one equal. On my Ridged I did at one time need to replace the end but I hear thats true with any system over the years of abuse.

The water tray: On the Ridgid it is a fixed but removable part of the saw it does not require a separate trip to the truck but the system they have for the pump lines are a pain the ass when removing the tray for cleaning. The Dewalt tray system I cannot rave on yet but I must say I am very leery of what I see. I only set the saw up once so far but I notice the tray may take a beaten very easily, I am not sure how this will hold up. The seperate side tray attachments to me is a bit ridiculous, the separate back tray is bad enough let alone a third tray. Does any one else use there saw without both attachment trays?
The table slide tray: The ridged to was gift from god compared to the MK, the Dewalt should do just fine also.