Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet


Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Other forums > Computer Training

Sponsors


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Unread 01-13-2009, 08:01 AM   #1
jgleason
Retired Moderator - Theatre Guy (and computers)
 
jgleason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weare, NH
Posts: 8,879
Windows 7 Beta...

So, I pretty much skipped Vista (we use XP Pro at work) but thought I'd give Windows 7 a try. The beta is available to download from Microsoft and try out. I'm typing this from Windows 7 Beta installed in a virtual machine running on my XP Pro system. I gave it 1.5GB of RAM and 32MB of Video memory. It actually is usable running in a virtual environment.

Anyone else in here running the beta?
jgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 01-13-2009, 08:10 AM   #2
davem
Systems Engineer and Moderator, JB Forums
 
davem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dexter, MI
Posts: 14,222
Send a message via AIM to davem Send a message via Yahoo to davem
If I can help it, I'll skip W7 too.

My motherboard uses DDR400 PC3200 which hasn't fallen in price like the new stuff, so I've only got 1.5GB. I'd like to put in 4 to play with some vmware stuff but I get hung up on the price.
davem is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-13-2009, 08:34 AM   #3
jgleason
Retired Moderator - Theatre Guy (and computers)
 
jgleason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weare, NH
Posts: 8,879
But Dave, it is Windows 7 Ultimate

As for the vmware - my laptop is a Thinkpad Z61t with 3GB of RAM. I run XP Pro on it for work but use Sun's xVM VirtualBox software to run virtual machines. Most of my virtual machines I use for testing are either W200Pro or XP Pro with various combos of software configured so I can test program compatibility. Other than the W7Beta, I only give 256MB to each virtual machine. You'd be able to run two or three simultaneously with 1.5GB on your system.
Attached Images
 
jgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-13-2009, 12:17 PM   #4
HS345
Tile Contractor
 
HS345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sherrodsville, Ohio
Posts: 6,588
Wow, that's cool. I've heard about virtual environments, but didn't realize it was readily accessible.

Joe, do you run Sun's xVM VirtualBox on machines you care about, or have important files on? Is it fairly easy to install and configure, for us non-geeky types? No offense, the term geek is now a major compliment.

I have 3GB RAM, and an older (2006) Pentium 4 630HT processor, if that matters.
__________________
The name's Greg
HS345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-13-2009, 12:42 PM   #5
jgleason
Retired Moderator - Theatre Guy (and computers)
 
jgleason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weare, NH
Posts: 8,879
Hi Greg,
Your system shouldn't have any problem running the VirtualBox software. Pretty easy to do although it helps if you're a bit geeky! Here's the link to the VM software I've been using - http://www.virtualbox.org

There are other VM environments, vmware, microsoft virtual server, etc. I like VirtualBox and there latest version is pretty decent.

My daily work system is my Thinkpad. I run VirtualBox on it and don't have any worries about my important files as they are all backed up at the end of each day. (I run a script using Robocopy to mirror my notebook files to the file server at work.)
jgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-13-2009, 01:15 PM   #6
HS345
Tile Contractor
 
HS345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sherrodsville, Ohio
Posts: 6,588
Thanks Joe!

Maybe I'm a little geeky after all. I had already looked up, and found out where to download Vitural Box. But I went to Sun's website, not VirtualBox.org. hehe Thanks for the heads up on the .org site.

I still long for the day when I can be as geeky as you Joe. But, that would require like, school and stuff.



__________________
The name's Greg
HS345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-13-2009, 01:21 PM   #7
jgleason
Retired Moderator - Theatre Guy (and computers)
 
jgleason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weare, NH
Posts: 8,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by HS345
But, that would require like, school and stuff
Well, at least the "stuff" part. My degree is in Theatre. All the computer stuff has been self taught.
jgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-13-2009, 01:28 PM   #8
HS345
Tile Contractor
 
HS345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sherrodsville, Ohio
Posts: 6,588
So there's hope for me yet.
__________________
The name's Greg
HS345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-13-2009, 01:48 PM   #9
jgleason
Retired Moderator - Theatre Guy (and computers)
 
jgleason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Weare, NH
Posts: 8,879
Let's not jump too far ahead of ourselves yet. Let me know when you have a virtual machine working, then we'll see.
jgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Stonetooling.com   Tile-Assn.com   National Gypsum Permabase


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiling around and above Windows: how? Matthias Tile Forum/Advice Board 36 02-19-2020 04:10 PM
Insufficient system resources Windows XP Pro Bugman Computer Training 7 06-04-2006 11:36 AM
Windows 98/Verizon Wireless Connection cx Computer Training 13 04-04-2005 07:03 PM
How to keep your Windows PC clean DIYOHMY Computer Training 33 02-15-2005 11:23 PM
Help me with my leaky window(s) ArtKilinski Tile Forum/Advice Board 1 10-23-2004 12:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Sponsors

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 John Bridge & Associates, LLC