Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 12-03-2018, 08:12 PM   #1
Dsimms

Shower pan mud

I used Mapei’s 4 to 1 mud bed mix to pour my preslope for my shower pan. I’ve never built a shower pan before. The pan had tar paper under it along with metal lathe.

When I mixed the mud and installed it it all went well. It’s sloped properly and I was pleased with how it was turning out.. I used a trowel to finish everything off smoothly.

I used a trowel that was square on the edges. Occasionally when I was smoothing everything off I would get off and dig the edge of the trowel into the bed and would have to start again with smoothing it out. As I did water began to rise to the top of the bed and the mix got really wet looking. I used the maximum that Mapei recommends of 4qts to the 55 lb. mix when mixing it. The mix would clump into a ball like it was supposed to but would leave my hand wet.

Once the pan dried there were areas that were really hard and areas that were sandy looking. The sandy areas were the parts that the water rose to the top in. If you took your hand and wiped the top you could rub it off, creating more sand. I vaccumed the top and removed the excess sand. There was only a few spots that actually had some divets in it.

I called Mapei and asked them if they thought the bed would still be good. They said the bed is always going to be somewhat sandy when you wipe it because it’s a dry pack. They said the strength of it comes in its compression strength. I let it sit for over a week and never saw any changes in the bed. It was strong to walk on. I went ahead and installed the pan liner and packed the final bed.