Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 04-24-2021, 10:06 AM   #1
DanLN

Newbie Shower Drain Confusion

Hello All,

I’m a newbie working on a a shower renovation in my basement. I’ve completely gutted the bathroom and removed the previous mortar bed, which appeared to be installed unprofessionally (No pan liner, drain not centered, uneven slope, etc.). Looking at the remaining drain assembly, I’m confused about why it doesn’t look like the drain assemblies I’ve seen in videos online (Which are all threaded to adjust the height and have clamping rings). I’ve included photos for reference. The only explanation I can think of is that whoever created the shower used a drain meant for solid pans, not the tiled shower floor that was previously installed, but that could be totally off-base. Will I need to break up the concrete around the drain and install a new one? Otherwise, how will I have space for the new mortar bed? My apologies if I’m not using the correct terminology on some of this. We are located in Northern Virginia if that makes any difference. I greatly appreciate any insight and advice!
Attached Images

Last edited by DanLN; 04-24-2021 at 02:04 PM. Reason: Pictures not posted
DanLN is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 04-24-2021, 03:29 PM   #2
John Bridge
Mudmeister

Send a message via AIM to John Bridge
Hi Dan,

Yeah, you'll have to chop the old drain out and get one with a clamping ring that will accept a pan liner. You'll have to chop a hole about 8 to 10 inches in diameter to be able to do the plumbing. You can later fill around the new drain with mortar.
John Bridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-24-2021, 05:14 PM   #3
DanLN