Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Welcome to John Bridge / Tile Your World, the friendliest DIY Forum on the Internet

Advertiser Directory
JohnBridge.com Home
Buy John Bridge's Books

Go Back   Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile > Tile & Stone Forums > Tile Forum/Advice Board

Sponsors

Unread 06-04-2019, 08:06 PM   #1
msheehan1

Tiling Niche with Vertical Stripe

Hi I am New to this forum. I am a Newbie in regards to tiling. What I am trying to do is have a vertical stripe that lines up with the width of the niche. My issue is all the tile I look at is 12(10)X12.. The inside width of the niche is 13.5 inches. What am I missing? I would like to use a hexagon pattern. I just do see how to do this without having a sliver or a grout line in the middle of the niche. The picture attach is sort of what I am looking to do. i have prefab niche.

Thanks
Attached Images

Unread 06-04-2019, 10:13 PM   #2
Tool Guy - Kg
Moderator -- Wisconsin Kitchen & Bath Remodeler

Welcome to the forum, Michael.

The niche in the picture you are showing was custom made by the installer. You’re not likely to get so lucky using a pre-fabricated niche that’s the same width as some tile you’ve got in mind.

If you tell us what method of waterproofing you have in mind, we can talk you through the steps to custom make a niche to size. If you haven’t picked out a method of waterproofing or someone has told you that you don’t need waterproofing, we can likely persuade you otherwise.