Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile (https://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Tile Forum/Advice Board (https://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Do I need underlayment? (https://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=44818)

Stonebunny 01-06-2007 03:18 PM

Do I need underlayment?
 
My bathroom floor is going to be pebbles (average about 1/2") over TrueFloor in-floor heating wires filled to level with either self leveling compound or some sort of concrete patch/fill. This is all on a subfloor that passes the deflecto test just fine.

I was originally going to use Ditra and then Kerdi up the walls a bit to make a waterproof pan for the whole bathroom. Now I wonder if Ditra and the small pebbles won't play well together.

The question is: Do I need an isolation membrane at all? If I still want to make the waterproof pan would Kerdi work as an isolation membrane? Is there a better way?

Davy 01-06-2007 05:22 PM

Hi John, you would need two inch tiles or bigger to use Ditra. The mud bed will need to be at least 3/4 thick on a small bathroom, thicker is better. You don't really need a membrane over a mud bed although you can if you want to. :)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 John Bridge & Associates, LLC