Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile (https://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Tile Forum/Advice Board (https://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Another Tile on Plank Subfloor! (https://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=130955)

Davidjames1 05-03-2021 09:33 AM

Another Tile on Plank Subfloor!

5 Attachment(s)
Hi all, Im newly registered but have gained lots of advice over the years via this forum!

Here is my situation, Im in the middle of a full remodel of my 40s house in Oregon. Doing as much of the work as I can myself. Im a woodworker by trade, but also really have a passion for all trades and a massive respect for pros who are in the trades.

About 8 months ago I hired a close friend who is a liscened contractor to help with installing durock in my kitchen in preparation for tile. To be honest I wasn't well versed in tile substrates at the time and trusted the contractor to choose wisely when working ( :bonk: ) 8 months later (yesterday) and Im cutting tile and getting ready to instal 12x24 porcelain, and I keep having this nagging thought of "is my substrate sound for tile?". Short answer of course it wasn't... I just didn't catch it in time.

Here Is what he did on instal of the durock. Stripped all existing flooring down to the 1x7 plank flooring, re-screwed plank (I think...) and I remember buying him the thinnest for the under the durock. He troweled the mortar and nailed the durock to the plank flooring. If you go under the house in maybe a few spots you can see some mortar that seeped through the t&g...
He never taped the seams, just mortared them. So a few days ago I taped them.

My floor in this particular room has a deflection of L458
2x10 x 13' Span, 16" on center. Really no noticeable deflection when giving floor a hard stomp with heel.