Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile (https://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Tile Forum/Advice Board (https://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   PC's Bathroom Renovations (https://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=105151)

PC7060 01-20-2013 12:02 PM

PC's Bathroom Renovations

My wife really wants porcelain tile in our 8x5 bath rooms but I am stuck with a home with 2x8 joists with spans of 11.5 feet up to 14' (don't get me start on the whole "self inspection" process that the local building authority implemented to keep up with the building boom in the 1980s.)

I used the deflectometer (very clever) to calculated the deflection for the bathroom to be around L/337 for a 2x8 with SYP and a 11.5 span.

The local tile guy says floor is stiff enough but I'm an engineer and believe numbers generally don't lie.

I removed the ceiling of our dining to to get full access the the underside of the bathroom floors so I can plumb for the new tub. This gives me room to implement additional structure to meet the deflection requirements.

My options seem to be:

1) sister in additional joists but the area is obstructed with water and drain lines which would need to be removed and re-installed (not a happy thought).

2) add blocking between joists to ensure load is distributed. Partial solution; adding another layer of plywood on top would probable achieve the same results.

3) glue and screw 3/4 ply to underside of joists to create a box beam. This would make future maintenance a real joy.

Any ideas?
Is there alternate flooring or grout which give the feel of the tile but can withstand higher deflections? I can post pictures if that helps.

Thanks in advance.

cx 01-20-2013 06:31 PM

Welcome, PC. :)