Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile (https://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Cleaning, Restoration and Sealing (https://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Ceramic tile floor - wet look sealer? (https://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=130596)

padiyguy 02-23-2021 09:23 AM

Ceramic tile floor - wet look sealer?

I am by no means a tile pro but have done a couple things around my house. My biggest job thus far was a marble backsplash. I've moved on from that and just did a ceramic tile floor.

I am going for the "wet look" on it and it seems there are only a couple products out there for that. One I found is GlazeGuard, but not much info on it on this forum. It's expensive tho.

With the marble I did, it was important to seal it prior to grouting. With a ceramic floor, should I be concerned about sealing before/after grouting? It seems like this glazeguard product wants to go on after grouting. Should I put anything on it prior to grout? How about after grouting before sealing?

Thanks!

John Bridge 02-23-2021 10:17 AM

Hi Dave, :)

The "wet look" sealers you're talking about are called enhancers, and there have been problems with grout when they have been used. It is generally recommended that you use the enhancer before grouting. A lot has to do with the type of tile you've used. A porcelain tile, for example, will not absorb any type of sealer. :)

cx 02-23-2021 10:40 AM

I think the GlazeGuard product Dave is considering is not a penetrating sealer or enhancer, but a polyurethane topical coating.

Manufacturer says it will work just fine in the intended application. I'm a bit skeptical, but have no experience with the product. Indeed, I had no knowledge of its existence until I just Googled it up.

My opinion; worth price charged.

Tile & Stone Guild 02-23-2021 10:53 AM