Subfloor and Ditra [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Subfloor and Ditra

ecranny
02-01-2010, 05:40 PM
I am planning to tile my kitchen floor with 18" porcelain. I have no experience and I have done some research, but I am not sure how to deal with the subfloor. I intend to use Ditra-XL so that I can install the tile so it will be flush with adjacent oak T&G floors. The current floor is on 9.25" x 2" joists, 16" OC, spanning 12'. There are solid wood (some kind of fir) floor boards on top of the joists - 8" x 3/4" and they are running diagonally across the floor (the house was built in 1930). There is 3/4" T&G flooring on top of that. I am planning to remove the T&G boards, but I am not sure if I will need to replace the layer below that with plywood or OSB. I am hoping I can install the Ditra on top of the floor boards. Does anyone have any advice for me?

Sponsored Links

HotinOKC
02-01-2010, 06:02 PM
Welcome!

You'll need to install at least a layer of 1/2" ply on top of the planks. Planks are not a approved substrate.

ecranny
02-01-2010, 06:17 PM
Thanks Mark - that is what I was afraid of :(

Do you think if I use 1/8" Ditra I will be able to transition from the adjacent floors - I have 3/4" to play with, so the 1/2" ply + Ditra + tile will bring the tile maybe 1/4" higher than the oak flooring - is that a reasonable difference to do a transition with say a 4" wide sloping hardwood board?

Dave Taylor
02-01-2010, 06:50 PM
Like Mark says.....
welcome to Tile Your World forums.

1/4" is a easy height to cover using a wood "T" or other type of transition.

I am yet (however) unsure of just what your flooring sandwich consists of.... and it is important there be no question about this as it is vital to our advice.

What are the dimensions, composition and condition of the 3/4 T&G boards up top your diagonal 3/4" x 8" subfloor?

Thanks

ecranny
02-01-2010, 07:16 PM