Hotmop - Why? (Newbie Q #1) [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Hotmop - Why? (Newbie Q #1)

Decagon
06-06-2009, 09:30 PM
Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie who's been learning a lot this evening browsing through your advice and comments. I'm embarking on a bathroom remodel in a house that was custom built in 1959. My tiler wants to bring in a hotmop company for the shower. I understand that's common in Southern California, but we didn't use this method where I've lived in other parts of the US. Can someone please explain to me what the pros/cons and reasoning is behind hotmopping? One big con I've heard about is the smell, smoke, and mess. Is there a big pro that outweighs this? Do I have to do this? Are there equal or better methods to use?

Thanks for any input. Cheers.
Lily

PS: I'm posting a couple other threads with related, but different, questions. Sorry for monopolizing people's time, but I feel I finally found a place with folks who could really help. :)

Sponsored Links

jadnashua
06-06-2009, 09:45 PM
The site prefers you keep all questions on a project in one thread.

I've never done (or seen, except in pictures) a hotmopped shower, so take that with a grain of salt...

My guess is that you could do one quicker, and the materials are cheap. Deck mud is cheap too, but it takes longer.

My preference would be to make a Kerdi shower see www.schluter.com. Faster than a traditional shower, and your shower becomes 100% waterproof all over, rather than just in the pan.

scuttlebuttrp
06-06-2009, 09:50 PM
Never seen one either. But I thought they claimed it was because of earthquakes. It's probably because "That's the way I've been doing it for 40 years now and ain't never had a problem."

MDK
06-06-2009, 10:08 PM