running 110VAC under ceramic tile? [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : running 110VAC under ceramic tile?

miketyler
04-24-2008, 10:19 AM
Hello all, am a newbie here. Someone was nice enough to send me a link to your forum. Looks like a great source for getting answers to tile and stone installations.

My issue? I just bought a newer foreclosure home (built in 2005) and want to install a kitchen island with a built-in fridge. I want to run electrical to it and prefer to run it under the tile and not overhead. The problem is that I have found no spare tile in the house or attic anywhere. It looks like it may be tough (or impossible) to match. No records available, was custom home built by the owner.

I dont want to cut and run the deco strip, or take up multiple tiles in the room and speckle it with a random alternate pattern. The tiles are about 13" square and I will need to pull up 4 of them. I've never pulled tile without destroying them in the process. Is it possible to pull them without busting them up?

A less traveled road: what about clearing a single grout line and trenching the slab? My grout lines are about 1/4" to 5/16" and I could get flat romex in there below the surface of the slab easy enough. Probably not up to code, but whats your thoughts on that?

Sponsored Links

Fairview
04-24-2008, 10:40 AM
Nobody is going to like the idea of embedding wire in your tile.

What's the issue with going overhead through the ceiling? Aside from presumably no way to drop the electrical to the island?

xxPaulCPxx
04-24-2008, 10:42 AM
Just use a solar cell counter top! :)

I take it you are talking about a kitchen that is built on a slab. What year was it built?