poly behind backer [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : poly behind backer

kflot
02-29-2008, 06:16 AM
Hi,
I hope I haven't screwwd up. I put down my poly vapor barrier then my hardi-board. Since then I have got "moisture paranoid". I coated the walls with red guard and am ready to tile. Is this going to be a problem? I have read now that this might create a moisture problem!!??? Is this right. Thanks

Sponsored Links

MikeyL
02-29-2008, 07:08 AM
I'm new to all of this myself.
If the Red Gard holds up, then there shouldn't be a problem with a "moisture sandwich". I'd suggest making sure that you coat the hell out of the backer board.
But let some others answer before doing anything

Dave Taylor
02-29-2008, 10:11 AM
I sure don't understand how you could read and review this site.... yet miss all the posts and threads that advise against doing.... exactly what you did; create the possibility for moisture containment and mold growth by building a "moisture sandwich".... which is exactly what you accomplished by sealing CBU between two moisture barriers.... polly on one side of the CBU and RedGard on the other.

Moisture will enter this area.... either by wicking or condensation if not by more direct means and.... it's exit will be restricted by the double barrier you have installed.

I wish I could agree with “MikeyL”…. that all is hunky-dory…. that you will never have a problem with this double moisture barrier…. but I can’t.

Any way you can put slits in that that polly sheeting on the back of your CBU?

kflot
02-29-2008, 10:25 AM
Hi Dave,
Unfortunately I had already built the enclosure and float and taped it, etc. It is then I had the brainwave of putting on the extra protection. I can't really rip it out now(bench built,nich,etc.) Will it be a serious problem? How much moisture are we talking? If the redguard does it's job, shouldn't the problem be very minimal?
Thanks, ken

HS345
02-29-2008, 11:15 AM