Ditra install [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Ditra install

daion
02-23-2008, 10:45 AM
sorry newbie here.don't know how to post :topicoff:
I'm trying to find out what is stronger for the floor.Ditra or 1/2" cement board? Have 1/2 t&g ply.But, have height issue w/ adjoining floors.Floor is pretty solid.Extra bridging,glued,nailed.Family room below w/ drop ceiling. :blah: :blah:
ANY help would be forever remembered.

when the storm starts,the drops start dropping,
when the drops stop dropping,the storm starts stopping!
dr.seuss

Sponsored Links

cx
02-23-2008, 11:24 AM
Welcome, daion. Please give us a first name to use if that's not it. :)

You don't want to attach your question to an unrelated shower thread, so I've moved it here and started you a project thread. Please ask all your questions here. We can change the title at any time if you'd like.

You don't depend upon the tiling substrate for any structural quality in your tile installation. Either the membrane or the CBU requires the same subflooring and joist sturcture.

Your subflooring is not adequate for either, but first we need to find out the rest of the story. You must know the type, condition, size, spacing, and longest unsupported span of the floor joists.

Then let's verify the actual type and thickness of your subflooring. It would be very unusual to have half-inch T&G panels.

My opinion; worth price charged.

daion
02-23-2008, 11:34 AM
Thanks for directing me to the correct location.
I was at error w/ the thickness of the sub.It is 3/4 t&g.I installed 2 xtra solid bridging runs and the longest span is approx. 11'.I glued and air nailed(6" pattern)
ron

Mike2
02-23-2008, 11:40 AM
Hi Ron. What size joists and how are they spaced?

See the Deflecto tool on the blue bar towards the top of the screen. Go there, input your joist data, then tell us what you get.

:)

Dave Taylor
02-23-2008, 11:54 AM