Super Absorbent White Tile PROBLEM [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Super Absorbent White Tile PROBLEM

Scott Ross
01-26-2003, 04:31 PM
Hello - I'm a General Contractor and I've got a problem... a tile problem (don't worry, the psychological problems are being handled by other professionals!). I've searched this site to see if it had already been addressed but I've come up dry. It has to do with white tile soaking up moisture and falling off the wall. Allow me to explain:

The Problem: My Tiler (excellent tiler and good friend) installed white subway tile in a shower in March '00. Two years later (March '02) it was falling off the lower half. We repaired it and last week my customer called to say the grout was beginning to fail - crack and become dislodged. I need to know if I or we are doing something wrong or if this has happened to any of you.

The Facts:

- I've had problems three times with white tiles (only some and only white) soaking up water, turning gray and/or falling off the wall. Once in '96 (8x10 Dal-tile,brazil) and twice in the last two years(manufacturer & origin unknown)

-Each time the homeowner supplied the tile from different reputable retail outlets here in central NJ. (It wasn't from one of the big box stores, I don't touch their stuff).

-I've noticed that with each of the three different tiles, if you placed a corner in water, it absorbed rapidly and in a short time was completely saturated, showing gray behind the glaze.

-My Tiler used wall and floor adhesive from TEC for these installations (like he does for all his installations - he said) and white unsanded grout from TEC.

-These were all factory cut tile with tight grout lines.

-On this current shower, the tile that was loose was completely clean on the back, however, some were partially adhered and the adhered part was a bear to remove.