Hello - Starting bathroom remodeling project [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Hello - Starting bathroom remodeling project

Ohso
01-24-2003, 10:12 PM
This is my first attempt at this type of project.

I'm hoping to install a ceramic tile shower for starters, and I'm a little unsure of how to get started. I read all the articles I could find on the subject, but I still have some questions.

I think I'd like to have an open shower without doors, but I'm worried about water splashing out and soaking the floor. Is there a certain size the shower should be before an open design is practical?

The space I have to work with is 5'4" long and 4' deep. Is that big enough? Should I make the entry to the shower smaller instead of having a huge 5' opening? Maybe I could add a half-height wall that extends out a few feet from the room wall that reduces the shower 'door' to a couple feet wide (and is a convenient place to sit things like shampoo...)?

Thanks in advance for any advice

Sponsored Links

tileguytodd
01-24-2003, 10:21 PM
The size of your shower is adequate.Perhaps a glass block wall built high for the first 30" or so and scalloping to a knee wall with a 26 or 28" entry area.Regardless of your choice here, Without a door you should consider a waterproof membrane throughout the bath area. A standard PVC membrane within the shower itself, And a paintable/trowelable membrane for outside the shower area.This will eliminate moisture concerns down the road....... :)
Welcome to the forum. Do you have a first name ?

davem
01-24-2003, 10:44 PM
Hi Ohso,
Welcome to the forum. :)

Ohso
01-25-2003, 11:30 AM
Thanks,

I'd thought about putting a waterproof membrane outside the shower area, but I'm not sure how to handle drainage from there, or if that is even a concern.