RE: CBU single layer/Construction adhesive [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : RE: CBU single layer/Construction adhesive

casman
01-20-2003, 10:00 AM
Well, I chickened out and decided to hire a tile guy. As a practical matter, I've been building this bathroom for over 5 years and my wife is gonna beat me silly if don't finish it soon. The drywall is up and electrical finished. Years ago, I purchased a Kohler Symbio pan. It cost some bucks and my wife wouldn't let me scrap it for a puored pan. Anyway here's the question. My tile guy is going to put up cbu using 4X8 sheets for less joints. He mentioned using construction adhesive as well as screws. He also asked me about finishing the shower area with greenboard prior to the cbu. Unfortunately there is no room for greenboard. Just room for CBU. The pan and drain is in. If I sheet the shower area studs with roofing felt prior to the CBU as I've seen it done in pictures, how's this guy gonna use construction adhesive over the felt paper. Is the felt paper a necessity, r can the cbu go directly over the studs? Help....Thank you...

Sponsored Links

tileguytodd
01-20-2003, 10:12 AM
I would certainly not worry about using a construction adhesive with your CBU.Either the felt or 6 mil poly for a vapor barrier can be attached directly to your studs.I use a hammer tacker to staple the material to the studs.
Why does your tileman feel a need to use adhesive?
He can either screw the product using special screws by durock or he can Nail the CBU with dipped galvanized roofing nails.I generally use the nails.Adhesive is not neccesary.After the CBU is up tape all carners and seams with duroc tape and skim with thinset. Have fun!!

John Bridge
01-20-2003, 06:17 PM
Hi Casman, Welcome. :)

Hey, this tile guy you have must be massive. I have a hard time lifting and manipulating the 3x5 sheets of CBU. ;)

Jeremy
01-20-2003, 06:23 PM
Bud said he uses adhesive with cbu's also.