New Project Question [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : New Project Question

Bozz
01-19-2003, 05:08 PM
Hello Tile Pros. I am a potential newbie tile laying weekend warrior seeking some advice. I have been lurking recently looking at older posts gathering some insight. Here is my quest.

I want to tile a T shaped area. Approximately 700 sf.
I have entry hall that leads into kitchen. This portion is over basement. The kitchen is open then into family room which is on slab. So kitchen and family room is top of the T.
Currently linoleum in hall and kitchen. They are over an unfinished basement. 2x12 16" center floor joists. About 30 ft span from front door to backside of kitchen. Split in 15 foot spans with metal beam support in the middle. Floor joists have the little X shaped wood support boards in the middle of each span to keep from warping I suppose.
11/32 OSB flooring glued and nailed with some type of thin backer board over it that the linoleum is glued to. Carpet in family room.

We are looking at 16x16 unglazed porcelain tile at Lowes. (Rialto Italian? same type comes in 12x12 and 6x6)

OK sorry on the long description but wanted lay out background information.

Questions (1st battery)

1. I am guessing that I need to remove the linoleum and existing thin backerboard and glue/nail new 1/2" backerboard to kitchen/hall for floor support and to concrete slab to level it with kitchen and to bring the wood portion to about 1 1/8 thickness.

Does this sound right? Or do I not need to add to floor thickness?
I said glue but I think I've read thinset.

2. Am I going with overkill with porcelain PEI 5? I cannot find any information on this tile on internet to see ratings other than PEI.
I want a heavy floor to withstand dropping stuff on it and breaking chipping. This tile is colored through.