radiant and other stuff [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : radiant and other stuff

sbollinger
01-16-2003, 11:14 AM
OK, this is an amazing board.

I am a structural engineer by trade and I am new to tiling but I love to learn new things by doing them.
(I put my roof up (doesn't leak), build furniture, plastering, plumbing and wiring, .. Not injured yet)

For my new house addition, I am planning to tile 3 bathrooms, a 400 sq. ft kitchen, and a small laundry room using mud.

In my preparations:
I bought John's buck (royalty check coming soon..). I have looked through Mike Byrnes book too.
I bought a felker tm-75 saw.

I will be putting in hydronic 1/2" radiant tubing which is not covered in john's book but I did find some threads dealing with this.

My understanding is that the floor sandwich looks like this:

grout
stone
thinset
Ditra membrane
mud
1/2" tubing
mesh
6 mil poly
3/4" plywood
joists

Is this correct? What is the minimum thickness I can get away with in the mud layer above the tubing?

Other questions:

Do you advise beginners to mud the walls or use the cement backer board?

Can I mud 10x10 floor areas at a time and wet or roughen the joints between stints?

Thanks

Scott Bollinger

Sponsored Links

Cami A
01-16-2003, 11:39 AM
That's a fine sandwich you're building there, Scott. You'll love the radiant heat. :D

Someone will be along to answer all those questions. ;)

e3
01-16-2003, 11:43 AM
there will be details for radiant heated floors, in the soon to be out 2003/2004 tca hand book. what ever membrane is used over the mud bed should be able to give you r-valuesfor their product. Both . www.noblecompany.com and www.schlutecr.com offer products.(noble also offers hydronic anti freeze)

e3
01-16-2003, 11:48 AM
spaced out___ also details are currently in tca handbook detail-f-141-02