Gypcrete vs. Mud [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Gypcrete vs. Mud

jagermeister
03-07-2007, 12:34 AM
I have read through alot of the threads here and have done research online. I'm in the process of getting bids on some flooring work and I am getting conflicting advice. I have done hydronic radiant in two rooms in my house and now want to continue through out. The one room I did was a bathroom and i ripped pieces of backer board into sleeper strips and filled with sand mix and ran the 3/8 tubing in between. I installed marble over it using flex bond and it worked out well so far. The other room I did was a complete mud job without any sleepers over 1/2 tubing. Luckily I put laminate/pergo flooring over it because as a newbie i didn't float it too level.

Now I'm ready to do the rest of the house. Two rooms will have laminate, one bathroom will have travertine and the rest (600 sq ft) will have porcelain. The floor that is being replaced with porcelain tile has a "pillow" tile now with a mud job of about 1". I'm planning on putting tar paper down, lath, 1/2" tubing and then flooring.

The question I have is the gypcrete/gypspan pumped in vs. mud. I'm concerned about weight and height. The house was built in the late 80s and all the joists are 2x10s with very large center beams (very open floor plan - sprawling ranch) Most spans are 12' and under. Some guys recommend mud base of as close to 1 1/2" as i can get without raising my front door entry (I have about 1 5/8" from subfloor to bottom of door) The subfloor is 5/8" plywood with a 1/4" luan. Other guys recommend a lightweight mix pumped in. The tile now is missing grout and is crunchy when you walk over it. I believe it is an inferior mud job at construction. There is lath in the mud but no vapor barrier. I'm hoping its not deflection.