Too Much for a Novice? (18" Irregular Tiles) [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : Too Much for a Novice? (18" Irregular Tiles)

sraisty
03-06-2007, 11:18 PM
Hi there, This is my first time posting but I've been reading the archives for the past few weeks.

I need your advice. i have a 10' x9.5' basement room that I am trying to tile. I spent a weekend scraping off cutback adhesive, and another one leveling out a dip in the floor.

And now I think the floor is ready. I started to chalkline in my layout lines and do a dry layout. 2 hours later I had laid out just 10 tiles. :cry:

Why? Because I am using a tile with irregular edges -- the "Tuscan Bone" porcelain tiles so common at Lowes. The tile I bought said 18x18. But the fine print on the box says 17.52 x 17.52. The tiles actually seem to measure something in between - around 17.75, but it's truly impossible to tell. Each tile is a slightly different size. I wanted 1/4 inch grout lines. The spacers are freaking useless.

I am so frustrated. I cannot seem to dry lay out these tiles straight. Every time I stand back it looks crooked.

I know the solution is probably to snap chalk lines for each grout line. But I have already made a mess of my floor with the blue chalk (a million lines everywhere). Before I proceed any further, I figured I should just stop with the random trial and error and just ask:

How far apart each set of chalk lines should be with this size irregular tile and grout line (1/4 inch)?

And is the 1/4 inch the "average" grout line or the widest?

And is there some kind of trick to laying out all these tiles straight?

And would you advise 18" tiles for a beginner who has done her best to get her concrete slab floor level but no doubt has left some rough spots (the "self-leveling" compound turned out to be anything but, was very hard to work with, and there is some cutback adhesive that would just not come off).