How long should I wait?? [Archive] - Ceramic Tile Advice Forums - John Bridge Ceramic Tile

PDA

View Full Version : How long should I wait??

pizzaguy
03-06-2007, 05:59 PM
Newbie here. Great Site. Tons of info, but I didn't see an answer.

I have installed all my tile in a shower, now starting on the grout. I am using a sand based grout. How long should I let it site before the shower can be used?

My plans were waiting two days to let it set and seal it. the sealer recommends letting that sit for 72 hours, so I am looking a good week before it gets wet. Is this enough time?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links

Jason_Butler
03-06-2007, 07:18 PM
I'd wait the 2 to 3 days, seal, and then 24 hrs after sealing...

Jason

Dave Taylor
03-06-2007, 07:21 PM
72 hours sounds like a plan to me Pizza. This covers you pretty much regardless of how you built that shower. Pretty much what Jason said.

MudMaker
03-06-2007, 07:47 PM
Hey PizzaGuy,
Welcome to the Forum.. :)
I just luv you guys.... :yeah:

Question, how'd ya do on the tile install?

pizzaguy
03-06-2007, 10:08 PM
Thanks for the help, guys. Install went pretty well. Allot of cutting. I will post some pics here in a couple days. Just moved in yesterday, so the boxes are stacked high. Thanks again.

Tool Guy - Kg
03-06-2007, 10:41 PM
Welcome pizzaguy,

Can we ask what kinna tile you installed and how wide the groutlines are? :)

And if your pizzas are super tasty, can we have a killer pizza recipe? I'm with Frank, I love pizzas! :yummy:

Dave Taylor
03-07-2007, 05:49 AM
Ol' Tonto Goldstein wasn't jest' bein' nosey when he asked you about what kinda' tiles you installed and how wide your grout line is.